My Room

19 04 2010

I finally settled down, placed my stuff where they should be. And as promised, some pictures and a virtual tour of my room. All 30 meters-squared of it. ๐Ÿ™‚ I took these pictures a while ago but just had the time to upload them to my computer and update my blog.

Utility and telephone meters

What you see here is directly to the right when you enter my room. These are my utility (top) and telephone (bottom) meters. I have to pay before I use anything in the room. The telephone meter is not so important as there is Internet but the other one controls electricity and water. Think what would happen if the meter runs out of money while I’m at the shower! ๐Ÿ™‚ By the way, everyday a certain amount is deduced. That means even if I don’t use anything I have to pay.

My kitchen

After you enter my room when you look to the left you can see my “kitchen” which is actually a small part of the room. On the bottom left there is the washer/dryer, on top of it you can see the microwave/oven. To the right of it there is the sink and 2 electric stoves. Towards the right of this picture there is my fridge. One thing bad about it that the freezer is on top, this means I have to kneel every time I need to take a beer something out.

My bathroom

This here is my bathroom which is directly on the right.ย  I think it has been manufactured at a factory as a whole system and then installed during the construction. The sink and other stuff are kind of low for me but I manage. ๐Ÿ™‚ For some dormitories having a kitchen and bathroom inside your room is a pretty luxury as land is expensive. If you are trying to figure out what that console near the toilet is, you have to look at the next picture.

O-mighty toilet console!

Yes, that is one mighty console! The buttons are for spray and bidet. If you don’t want to wiggle your ass around while you are cleaning yourself, the spray head even oscillates! You can also adjust the water pressure, which is warm by the way, and turn the warm seat on and off from a button hidden inside a hatch! I always wondered how these toilets were and I can say that they are pretty cool.

Storage room

Right next to the bathroom there is a storage room. There is a cupboard with hangers inside where I hang my shirts and jackets, t-shirts and shorts are in the drawers right near my luggage. Sweaters and sweatshirts are on the top shelf. There is also a little vacuum cleaner, a small iron and an ironing board in this room.

One shy vacuum cleaner

My vacuum cleaner is kind of shy and tiny, you can see it hidden at the back of my trousers. It is small but as my room is small, it is fit for its job. I recently vacuumed and it took only 10 minutes to vacuum all my room, without skipping any place.

Shelves and table

There are some shelves to put stuff and a long working table. As I don’t have too much stuff, these shelves are mostly empty, but in a couple of weeks, they will be filled with electronics stuff. Currently it stores some books, some unused cable (as in Turkey we use type C plugs but in Japan type A plugs are used), a few gifts that I didn’t had the chance to give yet and some brochures that I took while I was touring some parts of the city.

A long table

This here is my table which is a long one for my taste. Leftmost part is used for studying and it will probably be where my soldering iron and other tools will be placed. On the shelf my sweetheart’s Valentines Day gift to me, a drawing of me as Anakin Skywalker (but I look like Obi Wan, it’s the beard ๐Ÿ™‚ ) and her as Padme. You can see access her blog entry about it from here.ย  On top of it my electronics storage box which houses some microcontroller boards that I couldn’t leave back at Turkey. Right part is where my laptop stands. I also have a clock which shows me local time in Japan, Turkey and America. I’m usually in front of my computer in the mornings and after I return from school.

My bed

I have a big bed which is good as I am a little bigger than Japanese people. On the bottom there are two drawers for storage. Also what you can see as a telephone is actually an intercom. If someone is at the door or if I get a package, I get informed by it. Also I can use it to open the building door to have my visitors come in.

Pigeon defenses and escape ladder

I also have a balcony which will be refreshing when the rains stop. What you see above is pigeon defense, the water filled bottles are used to prevent pigeons from making nests or you got it. I think it is a clever way to do something. No crazy sound emitting stuff, no flashy lights or anything expensive; just a couple of old PET bottles filled with water. The metal door you see on the floor is actually an escape ladder. If a fire or earthquake traps me in my room, I can use it to get out of the building. When I open it, also another hatch on theย  bottom opens and a ladder drops down. They are placed in a zig-zag pattern that eliminates any accidents.

This is a basic tour of my room. TIEC is a luxurious place for Tokyo standarts but they make you pay the price. ๐Ÿ™‚ If you have any questions, feel free to ask in the comments.

Actions

Information

5 responses

19 04 2010
Cadi

we don’t care about you room or your fancy toilet! Especially when our rooms smell like fish ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
๐Ÿ˜›
Take care ๐Ÿ™‚

19 04 2010
tayken

Well there are some folks who are pretty interested! ๐Ÿ˜€ It’s too bad that your rooms smell… My kitchen utensils have arrived, you can come for lunch perhaps? ๐Ÿ™‚

20 04 2010
Ozgu-chan

I think I have to reload the whole Japanese construction industry into my mind: The bathroom design and dimension is just… interesting… The distance between the toilet paper, toilet pan and the washbasin has nothing to do with Turkish standards!

May be because we embody a much larger fat tissue compared to Japanese people ๐Ÿ˜€

20 04 2010
tayken

Well, I think it is also because the houses are so dense. I mean my room has a huge empty space but this is a standart Japanese toilet! It should be packed! We have huge houses as compared to here and that’s why dimensions are so different.

20 04 2010
Ozgu-chan

nagashi to benki wa kyori ga toruko de iru no hou ni chigau!

Leave a Reply

